The Care Certificate is an entry-level accreditation for all health and social care workers.

It was developed in partnership by Health Education England, Skills for Health and Skills for Care to provide a set of standards for individuals beginning a career in the health and social care industry to ensure that they are able to do their jobs in a caring and compassionate manner.

It comprises of fifteen standards, which are:

Understand your role
Your personal development
Duty of care
Equality and diversity
Work in a person centred way
Privacy and dignity
Fluids and nutrition
Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
Safeguarding adults
Safeguarding children
Basic life support
Health and safety
Handling information
Infection prevention and control