Learn, Do Not Copy!

  1. Home
  2. >
  4. >
  5. Care Certificate Standard 4 Answers: Equality and Diversity

Care Certificate Standard 4 Answers: Equality and Diversity

Standard 4 of the Care Certificate explores equality, diversity, inclusion and discrimination.

It looks at best practices to ensure inclusion and equality in your setting, why it is important, relevant legislation and sources of further information.

It consists of 3 learning outcomes, each consisting of 3 assessment criteria.

NOTE: All of these Care Certificate assessment criteria have equivalent assessment criteria in the Level 2 Diploma in Care qualification, so the above links divert to that section.

Care Certificate Standard 4 Workbook Answers

Here, you will find exemplary answers for all the questions in the workbook for standard 4 of The Care Certificate – Equality and Diversity.

The blank workbook for standard 4 can be downloaded from the Skills for Care website (PDF format)

Accompanying Video

Activity 4.1a

Complete the table below to explain the key terminology in your own words.

  • Diversity – recognising, accepting, respecting and embracing the differences between individuals
  • Equality – ensuring that everybody is offered the same opportunities, although not necessarily treating everybody the same. For example, ac ollege student with autism may require their printed materials to be on yellow paper, which means that they are treated differently in order to be offered the same opportunity.
  • Inclusion – ensuring all individuals have the opportunity to participate, be included regardless of their differences such as race, religion, gender, sexual orientation etc.
  • Discrimination – individuals being treated negatively or unfairly due to prejudice, stereotyping or labelling

Activity 4.1b

Discrimination may happen deliberately or by mistake within social care or health settings. For each of the examples below, describe the discrimination that is happening including whether it is deliberate or inadvertent (by mistake).

Example 1: A community group organises activities in a village hall that does not have access that is suitable for individuals who are wheelchair users.

Inadvertent Discrimination – The limitations of the facilities used by the community were probably overlooked by them.

Example 2: In a hospital a volunteer gives smaller portions of food to women than men because they believe that men have bigger appetites

Deliberate Discrimination – The volunteer is deliberately discriminating against women based on unfounded stereotypes. They are letting their own personal beliefs affect their work practices.

Example 3: A care home has a policy that limits kitchen hours from 8am to 5pm. A new resident observes Ramadan, meaning they can eat only before sunrise and after sunset. As a result of the kitchen policy they are not able to eat proper meals for the month of Ramadan.

Deliberate Discrimination – The care home are discriminating against the new resident by not accommodating for their religious beliefs. Furthermore, they are not promoting person-centred values.

Example 4: A home care worker stays longer at the home of an individual than they should because they are fond of the individual which means that the next person has less time for their care and support.

Deliberate Discrimination – The worker is discriminating against their next client because they are not keeping to their schedule due to their own personal preferences. This results in them not treating all their clients fairly and equally.

Activity 4.1c

There are a number of ways that can help to reduce the likelihood of discrimination happening in a workplace. Explain how practices that support equality and diversity, such as working in a person-centred way, can help to reduce discrimination in the workplace.

Working in a person-centred way can help to reduce the likelihood of discrimination because all individuals will consulted about their needs, wishes and preferences and collaborate as an equal partner in their care provision. Staff will respect the beliefs and wishes of the individuals that they support and promote their rights, including their right to make their own choices.

Activity 4.2a

On the diagram below, identify which legislation and codes of practice or conduct relating to equality, diversity and discrimination apply to you as a care worker.

Activity 4.2c

Reflect on the two examples of discriminatory practice below. For each example, describe how you could address the discriminatory practice in order to encourage positive change.

An individual you are supporting is unable to reach the counter at the checkout to pay for their shopping:

In the first instance, I would explain the issues to the staff member at the counter and if it was not dealt with adequately I would escalate it to the store manager and then write to their Head Office. I may need to use the establishment’s complaints procedure and highlight that the issue is discriminatory and unlawful.

You notice a colleague continuously refuses to support or treat an individual and they have said it is because of the individual’s sexual orientation:

I would explain to the individual that it is both unlawful and unethical to behave in this manner and their actions are discriminatory. I would also raise the issue with my manager and suggest that my colleague receive additional training in equality and inclusion and that they explain to them that this sort of behaviour will not be tolerated.

Activity 4.3a

On the diagram below, identify a range of sources of information, advice and support about diversity, equality and inclusion.

  • My manager
  • My organisation’s agreed ways of working (policies and procedures)
  • Appraisal and supervision
  • Own research
  • Legislation
  • Formal training

Activity 4.3b and 4.3c

Think about situations when you may need additional information, advice and support. Fill in the table below to demonstrate how you would try to find additional information, advice and support about diversity, equality and inclusion. One example situation has been done for you. For the second example think of a situation that can happen in your own work.

SituationWhen would you access information, advice and support?How would you access information, advice and support?Whom would you ask for advice and support in relation to this and why?
1. You realise that your knowledge of dementia could be improved in order to support an individual’s specific communication needs.As soon as I realised I needed support.Investigate in-house training options and, if necessary, research external training options.

Discuss my options with my manager.
My manager would be able to direct me to available training opportunities.

Training providers would be able to assist me with the training.

Specialist charities such as the Alzheimer's Society and Dementia UK could provide specialist advice and guidance.
2. You believe an individual who is visually impaired is being inadvertently discriminated against because they are unable to use the communal computer.As soon as I noticed the issue.Discuss with my manager.

Online research into assistive technology for visually impaired individuals.
Speak to technology companies about options for assistive technology to enable individuals with visual impairments to use computers.

My manager (to establish budget)
error: Sorry, content is protected to prevent plagiarism!!