Learn, Do Not Copy!

  1. Home
  2. >


The Level 5 Diploma in Leadership and Management for Adult Care is a nationally recognised qualification for individuals working in a leadership/management role within the health and social care sector. It is a mandatory qualification for Registered Managers.

There are several registered awarding bodies (such as City & Guilds) that have designed the courses along with the learning outcomes and assessment criteria. The criteria (and unit numbers) can vary between awarding bodies. The courses are usually delivered and assessed by other training providers such as colleges in line with the rules and regulations of the awarding body.

The study guides provided here are based on the City & Guilds specification.

New Level 5 (from 2020 onwards)

In 2020, the Level 5 qualification was replaced with a newer version that was created using a standard developed with Skills for Care and employers in the care sector. This qualification consists of 11 mandatory units and 7 optional units.

The mandatory units are shown below (please scroll down to see details for the older SASE qualification):

  1. Leadership and management in adult care (completed but not quality assured)
  2. Governance and regulatory processes (completed but not quality assured)
  3. Communication and information management in adult care (completed but not quality assured)
  4. Relationships and partnership working (completed but not quality assured)
  5. Person-centred practice for positive outcomes (completed but not quality assured)
  6. Professional development, supervision and performance management
  7. Resource management in adult care (completed and quality assured)
  8. Safeguarding, protection and risk
  9. Managing self (in progress – 1/4 learning outcomes complete)
  10. Decision making in adult care (completed but not quality assured)
  11. Service improvement, entrepreneurship and innovation (completed but not quality assured)
  12. Optional units

Please note: These study guides are currently in progress. The key below explains each progress state:

  1. Not yet started – we have not currently started writing this unit (although you may find rough notes for some criteria)
  2. In progress – we are currently working on this unit
  3. Completed – this first draft for this unit is complete
  4. Completed and quality assured – the unit has been checked by an independent third-party and updated if needed (as per our Quality Assurance Policy)

Old Level 5 Diploma (no longer available)

The old SASE Level 5 Diploma in Leadership has a number of pathways, which include children and young people, advanced practice and residential settings however this website focuses on the Adults’ Management pathway. This consists of thirteen mandatory units and a number of optional units. Your choice of optional units will depend on what the awarding body and your training provider can offer as well as personal preference.

The thirteen mandatory units are:

  1. Use and develop systems that promote communication
  2. Promote professional development (sample essay)
  3. Champion equality, diversity and inclusion (sample essay)
  4. Develop health and safety and risk management policies procedures and practices in health and social care or children and young people’s settings (sample essay)
  5. Work in partnership in health and social care or children and young people’s settings (sample essay)
  6. Lead and manage a team within a health and social care or children and young people’s setting (sample essay 1) (sample essay 2)
  7. Develop professional supervision practice in health and social care or children and young people’s settings
  8. Manage health and social care practice to ensure positive outcomes for individuals (sample essay)
  9. Safeguarding and protection of vulnerable adults
  10. Understand safeguarding of children and young people (for those working in the adult sector) (sample essay)
  11. Lead person-centred practice (sample essay)
  12. Assess the individual in a health and social care setting (sample essay)
  13. Undertake a research project within services for health and social care or children and young people
  14. Optional units

NOTE: This section is currently ‘in-progress’ as I am working towards my own Level 5 Diploma and will add my study notes for each section as and when I complete it.

You may also find my tutorial on ESSAY WRITING FOR LEVEL 5 DIPLOMA to be useful.