Learn, Do Not Copy!

  1. Home
  2. >
  4. >
  5. Standard 9: Awareness of Mental Health, Dementia and...

Standard 9: Awareness of Mental Health, Dementia and Learning Disability

Standard 9 of the Care Certificate is designed to give care workers a basic awareness of the challenges associated with mental illness, dementia and learning disabilities, even if they do not directly work with individuals that have these conditions.

It starts by looking at the needs and experiences of individuals with these conditions before looking at ways to promote their health and wellbeing.

It continues by exploring what adjustments to their care may be needed, the importance of early detection, legal frameworks and mental capacity.

It is split into six learning outcomes, each consisting of several assessment criteria.