Learn, Do Not Copy!

  1. Home
  2. >


The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care (RQF) is a nationally-recognised qualification for senior care workers.

It has been know previously as:

  • NVQ Level 3 in Health and Social Care
  • Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (QCF)

It is designed to confirm the occupational competency of care workers that have a lead role in their organisation. This can include managers, team leaders and senior support staff. It is equivalent to an A-Level.

There are several registered awarding bodies (such as City & Guilds) that have designed the courses along with the learning outcomes and assessment criteria. The criteria can vary slightly between awarding bodies. The courses are usually delivered and assessed by other training providers such as colleges in line with the rules and regulations of the awarding body.

The Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care consists of nine mandatory units and some optional units. Your choice of optional units will depend on what the awarding body and your training provider can offer.

The nine mandatory units are:

  1. Responsibilities of a care worker
  2. Promote personal development in care settings
  3. Duty of care in care settings
  4. Promote equality and inclusion in care settings
  5. Promote person-centred approaches in care settings
  6. Promote communication in care settings
  7. Safeguarding and protection in care settings
  8. Promote health, safety and wellbeing in care settings
  9. Promote effective handling of information in care settings
  10. Optional units

I am currently working on the Level 3 Diploma optional units.

There is a lot of crossover between the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care and the Level 2 Diploma in Care. Where this occurs, links will direct to the Level 2 section to avoid duplication.

NOTE: The units ‘Responsibilities of a care worker’ and ‘safeguarding and protection in care settings’ have identical assessment criteria to their Level 2 counterparts.

error: Sorry, content is protected to prevent plagiarism!!