Learn, Do Not Copy!

  1. Home
  2. >
  4. >
  5. Standard 11: Safeguarding Children

Standard 11: Safeguarding Children

Standard 11 of the Care Certificate explores the safeguarding of children (under 18s) and can be considered an extension of standard 10 (safeguarding adults).

Although you will primarily be working with adults, you still have a responsibility to protect and safeguard children – this is everybody’s responsibility and not just the responsibility of childcare workers.

This standard has just one learning outcome and the assessment criteria depends on whether you work in the Health sector or Social Care sector.

For health workers, if you are likely to have regular contact with children as part of your job role, it is recommended that your employer trains you to Level 2 in Safeguarding Children – you should (at the very minimum) be trained to Level 1.