Learn, Do Not Copy!
ALL DSDWEB RESOURCES ARE FREE. Please do pay for anything purporting to be from DSDWEB.

  1. Home
  2. >
  4. >
  5. Personal Development in Care Settings
  6. >
  7. Identify Standards That Influence the Way the Role...

Identify Standards That Influence the Way the Role is Carried Out


This page is designed to answer the following questions:

NOTE: This page has been quality assured for 2023 as per our Quality Assurance policy.

There are several standards and best practices that will relate to your role as a care worker. Some of these have been listed below. By reading and understanding these standards, you can ensure that the care you provide is of the highest quality.


Care Certificate

Everyone that delivers care in the health and social care sector should complete The Care Certificate to ensure that they have the set of skills needed to provide the minimum standards. It ensures consistency of skills across the industry. Ideally, all workers should also pursue the Level 2 Diploma in Care, and senior staff should complete the Level 3 Diploma in Adult Care. However, it should be noted that these qualifications are not mandatory for a career in care.



Legislation such as The Care Act 2014 describes (among other things) the obligations of the Local Authority for assessing people’s needs and eligibility for public-funded care and support. There are several other pieces of legislation that care workers should be aware of including:

  • Equality Act 2010
  • Health and Safety at Work Act 1974
  • Health and Social Care Act 2012
  • Human Rights Act 1998

Code of Conduct


The Code of Conduct for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers in England sets out the standards that all healthcare workers should adhere to and the minimum level of care all clients should expect.

National Minimum Training Standards


The National Minimum Training Standards for Healthcare Support Workers and Adult Social Care Workers in England defines the minimum knowledge a care worker should have, irrespective of their role.

National Occupational Standards (NOS)


The National Occupational Standards for Health and Social Care describe what health and social care workers in different roles should know, understand and be able to do.

Six Cs


The Six Cs, originally produced for nursing staff but then expanded to include other healthcare professionals, are recognised values that all workers should keep at the forefront of their minds. They are:

  1. Care: Care is our core business and that of our organisations, and the care we deliver helps the individual person and improves the health of the whole community. Caring defines us and our work. People receiving care expect it to be right for them, consistently, throughout every stage of their life.
  2. Compassion: Compassion is how care is given through relationships based on empathy, respect and dignity – it can also be described as intelligent kindness, and is central to how people perceive their care.
  3. Competence: Competence means all those in caring roles must have the ability to understand an individual’s health and social needs and the expertise, clinical and technical knowledge to deliver effective care and treatments based on research and evidence.
  4. Communication: Communication is central to successful caring relationships and to effective team working. Listening is as important as what we say and do and essential for “no decision about me without me”. Communication is the key to a good workplace with benefits for those in our care and staff alike.
  5. Courage: Courage enables us to do the right thing for the people we care for, to speak up when we have concerns and to have the personal strength and vision to innovate and to embrace new ways of working.
  6. Commitment: A commitment to our patients and populations is a cornerstone of what we do. We need to build on our commitment to improve the care and experience of our patients, to take action to make this vision and strategy a reality for all and meet the health, care and support challenges ahead.

SOURCE: Royal College of Nursing (https://rcni.com/revalidation/6cs-nursing-32156)

CQC Fundamental Standards


The Fundamental Standards of the Care Quality Commission are standards that everybody receiving care can expect and below which care should never fall.

Agreed Ways of Working


Agreed ways of working are the ways that your employer wants you to work and encompasses their policies and procedures. Your employer should have policies and procedures for all working practices, for example, a Safeguarding Policy, a Whistleblowing Policy etc.

error: Sorry, content is protected to prevent plagiarism!!